Pécsi Tudományegyetem

Kultúratudományi, Pedagógusképző és Vidékfejlesztési Kar


History of the University of Pécs

Nyomtatóbarát változatPDF változat

The University of Pécs represents and accepts as its own a great tradition dating back to the Middle Ages, while at the same time it is a modern and dynamically developing European higher educational institution offering various educational, cultural, sporting and recreational opportunities.


  • 1367 - The first university in Hungary is founded by the Anjou King Louis the Great in Pécs
  • 1746 - A college of theology is founded by Bishop Count Zsigmond Berényi in Pécs
  • 1785 - Emperor Joseph II orders to transfer the Royal Academy from Győr to Pécs
  • 1802 - The Royal Academy is moved back to its original location
  • 1835 - Episcopate Lyceum Quinque-Ecclesiae is established by Bishop Ignác Szepesy in Pécs
  • 1923 - The Hungarian Royal Erzsébet University is moved to Pécs from Pozsony (Bratislava)
  • 1940 - The Faculty of Humanities is moved partly to Szeged and partly to Kolozsvár (Cluj)
  • 1951 - With the medical school becoming independent (the Medical University of Pécs), the University of Pécs is left with only one faculty, the Faculty of Law
  • 1975 - The Faculty of Business and Economics is established (in Pécs), which had operated before as an affiliated section of Karl Marx University of Economics in Budapest
  • 1982 - The Teacher Training College is merged with the Faculty of Law and the Faculty of Business and Economics. The new institution assumes the name of Janus Pannonius
  • 1990 - The Faculty of Health Sciences is established at the Medical University of Pécs
  • 1992 - The Faculty of Education is split into the Faculty of Humanities and the Faculty of Sciences
  • 1995 - Pollack Mihály Technical College is merged with Janus Pannonius University
  • 1996 - A Faculty of Music and Visual Arts is established
  • 2000 - With the merger of Janus Pannonius University, the Medical University of Pécs and Illyés Gyula Teacher Training College of Szekszárd, a unified University is founded under the name of the University of Pécs
  • 2004 - Pollack Mihály Technical College is transformed into a full-fledged university faculty under the name of Pollack Mihály Faculty of Engineering
  • 2005 - The Faculty of Adult Education and Human Resources Development is established as the tenth faculty of the University
  • 2006 - The College of Health Sciences becomes a university-level faculty under the name of the Faculty of Health Sciences
  • 2010 - A modern Knowledge Centre and University Library is opened
  • 2012 - The Szentágothai Research Centre is opened


The modern University of Pécs was founded on 1 January 2000 through the merger of Janus Pannonius University, the Medical University of Pécs and the Illyés Gyula Teacher Training College of Szekszárd. However, its roots go back to 1367 when the Anjou king of Hungary, Louis the Great established the first Hungarian university in Pécs.

With its ten faculties - Faculty of Cultural Sciences, Education and Regional Development, Faculty of Business and Economics, Faculty of Pharmacy, Faculty of Health Sciences, Faculty of Humanities, Faculty of Law, Medical School, Faculty of Music and Visual Arts, Faculty of Sciences and Faculty of Engineering and Information Technology - the University of Pécs plays a significant role in Hungarian higher education. The University offers a broad range of training and degree programmes, ensuring high-level knowledge-transfer and research. With its students and nearly 2,000 teaching and research staff the impact of the University of Pécs extends well beyond the borders of Pécs.

A modern higher educational training system initiated by the European Union was introduced in Hungary too, known as the Bologna process, which offers students an opportunity to pursue their studies in a dynamically developing, convertible European higher educational system. The traditional college and university level training programmes were replaced by a three-tier system consisting of a basic training programme (BA, BSc), a master level programme (MA, MSc), and doctoral level (PhD, DLA) programme.

In order to meet the demands and the needs of the surrounding community for continuing education, the University of Pécs has started to develop its programmes within the area of life-long learning. In addition, the University attaches great importance to training in the colleges for advanced studies. Nearly every Faculty offers training in the framework of this organization that encourages students to pursue their own research.

Due to the credit system, first introduced in Hungary here in Pécs, an increasing number of Hungarian students participate in international study programmes as an integral part of their education, and likewise, an increasing number of international students and researchers come to the University of Pécs to study and conduct research every year. Therefore, the University continuously works on expanding and improving its co-operation with other universities and international research institutions and is already part of a large network at different levels.



You shall not pass!